Skip to main content

This is a new service - your will help us to improve it.

West Midlands Mental Health Star Awards 2022

West Midlands Mental Health Star Awards 2022

Nominations are now open

The West Midlands Combined Authority (WMCA) is hosting the Mental Health Star Awards 2022 to celebrate the ground breaking work being done across the region to improve mental health and wellbeing. We are asking you to nominate your Mental Health Stars. Nominations close on Sunday 23rd January 2022.

You can nominate anyone for a Mental Health Star award and can make one nomination in each category if you wish, whether it’s the friend that helped you through a difficult period, the GP who always takes the time to talk, a manager who has been supportive or the volunteer who gives up their evenings to provide support to vulnerable people in their community.

When making a nomination please make sure your nominee lives, works or provides support in one of these areas:

  • Black Country
  • Birmingham and Solihull
  • Coventry, Warwickshire County Council, North Warwickshire, Rugby, Nuneaton and Bedworth, Stratford upon Avon, Redditch
  • Shropshire, Telford & Wrekin and Herefordshire, Cannock Chase and Tamworth

We are inviting you to make a nomination from the five awards categories below:

Young Person (16-25)

This category is for an individual aged between 16 – 25 who has ‘gone above and beyond’ to promote mental health and wellbeing in the WMCA area. There is one award for this category across the WMCA areas.

Individual (Over 25)

This category is for individuals in the WMCA area who have ‘gone above and beyond’ to promote mental health and wellbeing in their area. There are four awards – one for each of the area clusters in the WMCA.

Team, Service or Organisation

This category is for a business, public service or voluntary organisation in the WMCA area that has ‘gone above and beyond’ to supportmental health and wellbeing in their area. There are four awards: one for small businesses, one for medium or large businesses or organisations and two for voluntary and community sector organisations

Cariss Evans Award for Innovation

Cariss Evans Award for innovation in work with young people (in memory of Cariss Evans who won a posthumous award and worked in Child and Adolescent Mental Health Services in the Black Country. This award is open to nominations from across the WMCA area.

Collaboration Award

This category is to recognise individuals and organisations who have come together in a new way during the pandemic to support the mental health and wellbeing of local people

Make a Nomination